Environmental Health: Home

Covers all aspects of infectious diseases and their prevention, offering historical and technical background with a balanced discussion of discoveries, developments, and prognoses.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.

As more people worldwide live in cities, increasingly we need to understand how cities and city living affect population health. Does city living negatively affect health? Conversely, can city living enhance population health and well-being? Over forty experts from around the world bring a depth of ideas to the Handbook of Urban Health, making the Handbook a focused resource for a range of health disciplines. The Handbook presents: --A discussion of the health of specific urban populations, among them immigrants, children, the elderly, racial and sexual minorities, the homeless, and the poor. --Methods relevant to the study of urban health including epidemiology, research methods, funding and policy issues, urban planning --Practical issues for developing healthy cities including interventions, preventive strategies, providing health services, and teaching urban health --International perspectives from developing countries and the World Health Organization --Integrative chapters that conclude each of the book’s sections, bringing together theoretical models with the big picture. A unique professional idea book, research resource, and teaching text, the Handbook of Urban Health challenges readers to consider the role that cities plays in shaping population health and to generate solutions that can make cities healthier places for all those who live there.

Covers all aspects of infectious diseases and their prevention, offering historical and technical background with a balanced discussion of discoveries, developments, and prognoses.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.