EDUimages by All4Ed
Free library of photos celebrating students—and the educators who teach them.
gettyimages
Search for stock photos, high-res images, and pictures. Royalty-free images will present "RF" hover text.
Pexels
Free stock photos shared by members. Membership is encouraged.
OpenVerse
Millions of images in the public domain or with Creative Commons licenses.
Pixabay
Over 2.6 million stock images, videos and music shared by the community.
Unsplash
Freely useable images shared by members - membership is encouraged.
Any material created today and fixed in a tangible medium is automatically protected by copyright, including images you may find online. Don't assume you have permission to use images that have been posted on the Internet, even for educational purposes. Unless the image includes a clear indication that it resides in the Public Domain, that it is protected by a Creative Commons license, or is otherwise available without restrictions, you should follow the same guidelines as you would for printed material.
Library database collections may include copyrighted images. Through agreements with database vendors copyright owners sometimes give permission for use of these images by means of vendor-consumer licenses. You may use the images in these databases for educational use, but be sure to read through and abide by the terms of use for each database. SVCC login may be required for access.
Digital library with 1.8 million images from some of the world's top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives. Arstor has moved to the JSTOR platform. After logging in choose the Images tab above the search box.
JSTOR Terms and Conditions of Use
A collection purchased by the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) featuring 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture, architecture, and architectural sites.
CARLI Digital Collections Saskia Art Images Collection Rights and Usage Information
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Search or browse through over 800,000 photographs and other images. Some images may be subject to third party rights.
NYPL Website Terms and Conditions
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online
The collections include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings that document the history of the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Rights Information
Some images in these databases may not be in the public domain, so be sure to check for copyright and terms of use.
This library guide is published for informational purposes and should not be interpreted as a substitute for legal advice.
