Zoology

Darwin, Charles
From the Encyclopedia of Evolution. Comprehensive biographical article about the life of Darwin, including his work in the field of Zoology.

Fossey, Dian
From American Biographies: American Scientists. Brief biographical article about the scientist who specialized in the study of the mountain gorilla, one of the rarest primates on earth. Most of what is known about these gorillas today is a direct result of her work.

Goodall, Jane (1934- )
From The Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Brief biographical article about the English zoologist best known for her studies of chimpanzees in the Gombe Stream Reserve in Tanzania.

How Do We Classify Animals?
From The Princeton Field Guide to Prehistoric Mammals. Discusses the science of taxonomy including a historical perspective; shared derived characters, shared primitive characters, and problems associated with grouping animals.

Linnaeus, Carolus
From the Encyclopedia of Evolution. Brief biographical article about the Swedish botanist who invented modern taxonomic classification using Latin names.

What's In a Name?
From The Princeton Field Guide to Prehistoric Mammals. Accessible explanation of the rules that govern the creation of scientific names for animals.

Zoology
From The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology. Reference article featuring a history of the science of Zoology, including early exploration, institutions associated with the field, and transformation and legacy.

Zoo-ology: The Goals and Practices of Zoos Are Evolving as We Measure Their Impact
Natural History 124(1), February 2016. Discusses the successes and failures of zoos in educating visitors and promoting conservation of species.

Vertebrate Zoology Collection Database
American Museum of Natural History. Data for all cataloged specimens housed in the Herpetology, Ichthyology, Mammalogy, and Ornithology collections are included in this database.

What You Need to Know About Becoming A Zoology Major
U.S. News & World Report. Zoology majors gain a deep understanding of animals, from their biology and evolution to diseases and behavior.

Zoologists and Wildlife Biologists
Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. This article contains information about careers for zoologists and wildlife biologists, including job descriptions, career outlook, education, and median pay.

Zoology articles from across Nature Portfolio
From the publishers of Nature (a premier peer-reviewed science & technology journal) you can find news and open access research  articles on the scientific study of animals, including animal anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, genetics, evolution, ecology, behavior and conservation.

Zoology for Kids
American Museum of Natural History. Games, topic pages, hands-on activities and videos to entertain and help kids learn more about what animals eat and how they live, and how animals interact with their habitats.